top of page
Search

kaleidoscopes

This may be my madness descending to another level, but here goes. I had been wanting to progress my work to the next level for some time now, but was unsure as to how or in what form. A grand lesson in patience brought me the 'ho The best conditions to photograph my work is the particular combo of overcast, yet bright light outside (no shadows cast, yet see the details). A slew of bright days had me making 3 pieces, yet unable to photograph the finished works. I started tinkering with images, starting mirroring them, then discovering how to create kaleidoscopes from them. I am still over the moon with creating these. And then I discovered I can create round ones ! Still swooning . . .

I find it no coincidence that at the same time I started fasting (for spiritual reasons). Immediate effects were hunger (of couse) and caffeine withdrawal headache, but I continued, wanting see how my prayer life would be affected (it deepened). Later that week, I experienced such profound mental clarity, almost an opening to 'something ' else. I can feel that my work progression into kaleidoscopes is somehow connected to mathematics, theories of time and relativity, but am unable to grasp it (math and science were my weakest subjects in school). Once again, I don't fully understand it, but am called to create it.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page