top of page
Search

my cancer story

I am a ghost. Not in the woo woo bedsheet variety, but in the invisible way. As only the scarred can be. As only one who has travelled to a land unfamiliar to anyone else can be. I am, even now, as if I had died but somehow remain walking, breathing. Like I alone have discovered how to breathe underwater. And alone it is, even though thousands have been and remain where I tread. I am forever changed, in good ways as well as bad,

A timeline for details :

June 10 (2020) my left breast was swollen, red, painful, and hot like a sunburn.

June 12 my left breast turned purple, went to the doctor, was put on antibiotics for 10 days and received 3 antibiotic shots. The color and swelling improved, but the pain remained.

June 29 I went to UHC hospital for a mammogram and breast ultrasound, a mass in the left breast looks like a unicorn, 2cm wide (slightly less than an inch), the "horn" puts it much taller. my BIRADS score for this is a 5. Birads is a scoring system for ultrasounds, it goes from 0-6, 5 being a 95% chance of malignancy (6 is after a biopsy shows cancer is present). the radiologist was so sure that he told me I had cancer, even before a biopsy, so I've known since this day, but chose to wait for a biopsy to be certain before I let anyone else know. Due to covid, I was alone, my husband was outside waiting in the parking lot (but honestly, I only expected to hear I had an infection, cancer was never even on my radar)

July 8 ultrasound/needle biopsy of mass.

July 13 surgeon called me at home and confirmed cancer diagnosis (invasive ductal carcinona to be exact, most common type) I will need another biopsy of the irregular lymph node found. surgery for sure. I meet with him on Thursday, he will have the markers info by then (eventually find out stage 2, estrogen+ progesterone+ HER2-) for treatment options, staging, etc. oncologist appointment at the Cancer Center UHC is on Friday. the avalanche of appointments begins . .

August I had a lumpectomy and 2 lymph nodes removed (underarm is still numb -permanent nerve damage) I have a pink hospital bracelet with "Limb Alert" on it, seems I can never get blood drawn or blood pressure checked on the side that had lymph nodes removed.

September I needed a second surgery as the tumor margins weren't clear after the first one.

numerous infections, seroma, doctor visits . . .even after the second surgery my margins were less than 1mm and am unable to tolerate the estrogen therapy tablets.

October radiation, 15 visits, every day Mon - Fri for 3 weeks. I received 8 permanent tattoos, blue dots to line up the radiation each time. They had a pretty landscape on the ceiling of a snow capped mountain. I would imagine climbing cloiser to the top with each visit. I turned 57 on one of my visits, the lovely staff got me a piece of cake.

December seroma, drainings, pain, meds. I still have pain when hugged or touched on my left side.

I am now "cancer free". The hardest part is the mental aspect. I struggle daily. In the beginning I had such an intense feeling of shame, of having done something wrong, of being in trouble - like being called into the principal's office at school. All through this I distinctly felt as if it was happening to another "me" next to myself, just to my left. If anyone marvelled at how well I took everything, it was because it felt like it was happening to someone else. The only time I cried was when I took the bandages off from my first surgery. I am still a scarred Frankenstein mess there. If I was to cry all my tears, all that would be left is a pile of dust, to blow away in the wind. The only living person cremated and still walking around. Funny, all my life I have been a square peg in a round hole, except for breast cancer - I am exactly the average age of onset, have the most common type, even the most common tumor site, outer right quadrant at 2 o'clock.

Day by day now, some days are good, others horrible, most are in between . . .

Life is too short to not be authentic, to enjoy God's gifts on this earth, to radiate peace, love, and joy wherever you go.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page